November 15, 2005
Gasoline Alley/Geffen
Pop/Rock, Alternative Pop/Rock, Punk Revival, Alternative/Indie Rock, Third Wave Ska Revival, Ska-Punk

Album Review

Gold is the third official Sublime retrospective, following 2002's 20th Century Masters and Greatest Hits from 1999. But none of it is unreleased, or even very rare. In fact, Gold is really an abstract, an only slightly condensed run through Sublime's three studio albums. It includes hits, fan favorites, and a bunch of album tracks, as well as an essay that details again the band's rise and tragic fall for anyone who missed it first 3,000 times. But that's who Gold must be meant for, that potential Sublime neophyte, because sliced any other way this set is straight-up opportunism. Diehards will have all of this material a few times over, while casual fans are happy with the self-titled 1996 album. They have their "What I Got," their "Santeria," their "Wrong Way"; they don't need "Let's Go Get Stoned," "Had a Dat," or Bradley Nowell's earnest meanders into dub. So in that sense Gold isn't for anybody, because it includes too much shake for the noncommittal but not enough kind for the Sublime professionals. It's always nice to hear Sublime's best moments, to imagine them partying and playing through the backyards and beach towns of Southern California. But those memories get a little staler every time they're repackaged.
Johnny Loftus, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. Don't Push
  2. Slow Ride
  3. Had a Dat
  4. D.J.'s
  5. Let's Go Get Stoned
  6. Badfish
  7. Waiting for My Ruca
  8. 40oz. to Freedom
  9. Smoke Two Joints
  10. We're Only Gonna Die for Our Own Arrogance
  11. 5446 That's My Number/Ball and Chain
  12. Scarlet Begonias
  13. Chica Me Tipo
  14. Right Back
  15. Date Rape
  16. KRS-One
  17. Rivers of Babylon
  18. Steady B Loop Dub
  19. Pool Shark
  20. Steppin' Razor
  21. Greatest Hits
  22. Free Loop Dub
  23. Saw Red
  24. Work That We Do
  25. Cisco Kid
  26. STP
  27. Boss D.J.
  28. I Don't Care Too Much for Reggae Dub
  29. All You Need
  30. Garden Grobe
  31. What I Got
  32. Wrong Way
  33. Same in the End
  34. April 29, 1992 (Miami)
  35. Santeria
  36. Seed
  37. Jailhouse
  38. Pawn Shop
  39. Under My Voodoo
  40. Get Ready
  41. Caress Me Down
  42. What I Got (Reprise)
  43. Doin' Time
  44. Trenchtown Rock
purchase full album