Warner Bros.
Gospel, Traditional Gospel, Gospel, Southern Gospel, Black Gospel

Album Review

The Fairfield Four were once among the finest hard gospel ensembles around. Unfortunately, they didn't stay together as long as their comrades, disbanding in 1950 due to business problems. They reunited 30 years later, then received a National Heritage Fellowship award in 1989. This wonderful 1992 release features awesome harmonies, a guest appearance from the Nashville Bluegrass Band on "Roll, Jordan Roll," and soaring, magnificent lead vocals from Walter Settles, Isaac Freeman, and Rev. W.L. Richardson. Old-timey gospel at its best, vividly presented via contemporary technology.
Ron Wynn, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. Tree of Level
  2. My God Called Me This Morning
  3. Children Go Where I Send Thee
  4. Born Again
  5. (Keep Me) Near the Cross [Servants Prayer]
  6. Roll Jordan Roll
  7. Standing in the Safety Zone
  8. Swing Low, Sweet Chariot
  9. Last Month of the Year
  10. How I Got Over
  11. Dig a Little Deeper
purchase full album