Shout! Records
Country, Progressive Country, Alt-Country, Country-Folk, Alternative/Indie Rock

Album Review

Jimmie Dale Gilmore's self-titled sophomore effort boasted a less aggressive sound than his Joe Ely-produced debut, and that suited Gilmore's wavering tenor and impressionistic lyrical style just fine, though the album also sounds like an attempt to blend a traditional country approach with Gilmore's rather individualistic style. This time out, Gilmore wrote (or co-wrote half) of the album's ten songs, while old friend Butch Hancock ponied up two tunes of his own, and the production (by Bruce Bromberg and Lloyd Maines) generates a laid-back honky tonk vibe that recalls the feel of a Texas dancehall without forcing the issue. The album rescues one classic tune from the long-lost Flatlanders album ("Dallas"), and "Deep Eddy Blues" and "Beautiful Rose" prove he had plenty of other great songs at his disposal, which marks a major improvement over the covers-heavy debut. Sometimes, however, the spunky tempo and precise accompaniment of the music seem to be working against the grain of Gilmore's often world-weary songs, though Jimmie Dale himself accompanies these arrangements with grace and confidence. Jimmie Dale Gilmore is a fine album and a step up from Fair and Square, but in retrospect it sounds most like a stepping stone on the way to his definitive recording, After Awhile.
Mark Deming, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. Honky Tonk Song
  2. Honky Tonk Song
  3. The Doors Are Open Wide
  4. The Doors Are Open Wide
  5. See the Way
  6. See the Way
  7. Beautiful Rose
  8. Beautiful Rose
  9. Dallas
  10. Dallas
  11. Up to You
  12. Up to You
  13. Red Chevrolet
  14. Red Chevrolet
  15. Deep Eddy Blues
  16. Deep Eddy Blues
  17. That Hardwood Floor
  18. That Hardwood Floor
  19. When the Nights Are Cold
  20. When the Nights Are Cold
purchase full album