November 07, 2006
Locomotive Records
Pop/Rock, Christmas, Holidays, Celtic, Hard Rock, Folklore, Heavy Metal, British Folk, Guitar Virtuoso, Celtic Folk, Contemporary Celtic

Album Review

Ever wonder what Christmas carols sounded like back in time when the finest form of transportation was by horse and wearing armor was a hip fashion statement? Well then, the second release of 2006 by Blackmore's Night, Winter Carols, may offer some insight. As with their previous efforts, the music on Winter Carols is of the Renaissance-inspired folk variety. And while the majority of the songs are traditional compositions, there are also a few originals, including "Winter (Basse Dance)," which includes some simply gorgeous acoustic guitar doodling by once Fender Strat/Marshall amp abuser Blackmore. Elsewhere, songs such as "Hark the Herald Angels Sing/Come All Ye Faithful" and "We Wish You a Merry Christmas" would sound splendid sung around the campfire -- if it were still the 15th century. Unfortunately, a rendition of the Chipmunks' "The Chipmunk Song (Christmas Don't Be Late)" is not included.
Greg Prato, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. Hark the Herald Angels Sing/Come All Ye Faithful
  2. I Saw Three Ships
  3. Winter (Basse Dance)
  4. Ding Dong Merrily on High
  5. Ma-O-Tzur
  6. Good King Wenceslas
  7. Lord of the Dance/Simple Gifts
  8. We Three Kings
  9. Wish Your Were Here
  10. Emmanuel
  11. Christmas Eve
  12. We Wish You a Merry Christmas