RELEASE
January 30, 2007
LABEL
Rhino
GENRES
Country, Contemporary Country, Honky Tonk, New Traditionalist

Album Review

Warner Brothers teamed with Rhino for The Very Best of Travis Tritt, the most comprehensive single-disc compilation of the rough-edged country singer's greatest hits to date. The two labels had teamed up in 2002 for a fine pair of Tritt collections -- The Rockin' Side and The Lovin' Side, each of which includes 16 songs -- but it's nice to have an all-encompassing single-disc collection like this one, especially for casual fans who don't want to buy two separate CDs. The Very Best includes the primary highlights from Tritt's Warner Brothers catalog, which began with Country Club (1990) and concluded with No More Looking Over My Shoulder (1998). Furthermore, The Very Best includes a pair of songs from Down the Road I Go (2000), Tritt's debut album for Columbia: "It's a Great Day to Be Alive" and "Best of Intentions," which charted number two and one, respectively. Plus, there are a few non-album inclusions, namely "Take It Easy," from the Eagles tribute album Common Thread (1993); the "Single Version" of Steve Earle's "Sometimes She Forgets," from Greatest Hits: From the Beginning (1995); and "This One's Gonna Hurt You (For a Long, Long Time)," from Marty Stuart's This One's Gonna Hurt You (1992). The only minor complaint is that The Very Best isn't sequenced chronologically. But at least the sequencing is logical, for the most part alternating uptempo songs with ballads. In the end, it's difficult to envision a better-compiled Warner Brothers-era single-disc collection of Tritt's music than The Very Best.
Jason Birchmeier, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. It's a Great Day to Be Alivehttp://itunes.apple.com/album/the-very-best-travis-tritt/id213514004?uo=5
  2. Take It Easyhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/take-it-easy/id213514004?i=213514014&uo=5
  3. Here's a Quarter (Call Someone Who Cares)http://itunes.apple.com/album/heres-quarter-call-someone-who/id213514004?i=213514045&uo=5
  4. Anymorehttp://itunes.apple.com/album/anymore/id213514004?i=213514048&uo=5
  5. Country Clubhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/country-club/id213514004?i=213514092&uo=5
  6. Help Me Hold Onhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/help-me-hold-on/id213514004?i=213514098&uo=5
  7. Where Corn Don't Growhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/where-corn-dont-grow/id213514004?i=213514159&uo=5
  8. Best of Intentionshttp://itunes.apple.com/album/the-very-best-travis-tritt/id213514004?uo=5
  9. I'm Gonna Be Somebodyhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/im-gonna-be-somebody/id213514004?i=213514296&uo=5
  10. Can I Trust You with My Hearthttp://itunes.apple.com/album/can-i-trust-you-with-my-heart/id213514004?i=213514299&uo=5
  11. Foolish Pridehttp://itunes.apple.com/album/foolish-pride/id213514004?i=213514327&uo=5
  12. Lord Have Mercy on the Working Manhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/lord-have-mercy-on-working-man/id213514004?i=213514348&uo=5
  13. Nothing Short of Dyinghttp://itunes.apple.com/album/nothing-short-of-dying/id213514004?i=213514381&uo=5
  14. More Than You'll Ever Knowhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/more-than-youll-ever-know/id213514004?i=213514428&uo=5
  15. Sometimes She Forgets [Single Version]http://itunes.apple.com/album/sometimes-she-forgets/id213514004?i=213514432&uo=5
  16. This One's Gonna Hurt You (For a Long, Long Time)http://itunes.apple.com/album/the-very-best-travis-tritt/id213514004?uo=5
  17. Tell Me I Was Dreaming [Single Version]http://itunes.apple.com/album/tell-me-i-was-dreaming/id213514004?i=213514476&uo=5
  18. Drift Off to Dream [Edit]http://itunes.apple.com/album/drift-off-to-dream/id213514004?i=213514500&uo=5
  19. The Whiskey Ain't Workin'http://itunes.apple.com/album/the-whiskey-aint-workin/id213514004?i=213514540&uo=5
  20. T-R-O-U-B-L-Ehttp://itunes.apple.com/album/t-r-o-u-b-l-e/id213514004?i=213514549&uo=5
purchase full album