RELEASE
1990
LABEL
Rounder
GENRES
Blues, Soul, Inspirational, Modern Electric Blues, Retro-Soul, Soul-Blues

Album Review

The Holmes Brothers' voices are too potent, their harmonies too smashing, and their love of vintage sounds too immense for them to be content with producer-dominated, softer urban contemporary sounds. This set included some riveting gospel tunes like "None But the Righteous" and "Up Above My Head," plus a credible (if a little lengthy) version of "When Something Is Wrong with My Baby" and the tighter, hard-hitting tunes "Please Don't Hurt Me," "Ask Me No Questions," and "The Final Round." If straight-ahead, rousing shared leads and booming harmonies interest you, the Holmes Brothers do it the way they used to throughout the South in the '60s and '70s.
Ron Wynn, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. Please Don't Hurt Mehttp://itunes.apple.com/album/please-dont-hurt-me/id2929555?i=2929533&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  2. The Final Roundhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/the-final-round/id2929555?i=2929535&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  3. When Something Is Wrong with My Babyhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/when-something-is-wrong-my/id2929555?i=2929537&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  4. Hey, Hey, I Love Youhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/hey-hey-i-love-you/id2929555?i=2929539&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  5. None But the Righteoushttp://itunes.apple.com/album/none-but-the-righteous/id2929555?i=2929541&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  6. Squeal Like an Eelhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/squeal-like-an-eel/id2929555?i=2929543&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  7. Going Down Slowhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/going-down-slow/id2929555?i=2929545&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  8. Ask Me No Questionshttp://itunes.apple.com/album/ask-me-no-questions/id2929555?i=2929547&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  9. So Finehttp://itunes.apple.com/album/so-fine/id2929555?i=2929549&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  10. Baby, What You Want Me to Dohttp://itunes.apple.com/album/baby-what-you-want-me-to-do/id2929555?i=2929551&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  11. Up Above My Headhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/up-above-my-head/id2929555?i=2929553&uo=5&at=11l9vR
purchase full album