Smithsonian Folkways Recordings
Folk, Singer/Songwriter, Cowboy, Traditional Folk, Political Folk, Acoustic Blues, Folk-Blues, Folk Revival, Country Blues, Field Recordings, Songster, Folksongs

Album Review

Richly varied set, from Leadbelly to Woody Guthrie, drawn from the vast Folkways archives and dating from the early 40s to the 60s. Excellent annotations.
Charles S. Wolfe, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. Morning Grub Holler
  2. Round-Up Cook
  3. Chisholm Trail
  4. Whoopie-Ti-Yi-Yo, Get Along Little Dogies
  5. Little Joe, the Wrangler
  6. Little Joe the Wrangler's Sister Nell
  7. Utah Carl
  8. Put Your Little Foot
  9. Trail to Mexico
  10. Las Chapparreras
  11. Buffalo Skinners
  12. Zebra Dun
  13. Some Cowboy Brag Talk
  14. Horse Wrangler
  15. Strawberry Roan
  16. Texian Boys
  17. Cow Cow Yicky Yicky Yea
  18. Jesse James [Leadbelly's Version]
  19. Home on the Range
  20. (There's an) Empty Cot in the Bunkhouse Tonight
  21. When It's Springtime in the Rockies
  22. Lone Star Trail
  23. Rodeo Hand
  24. Philadelphia Lawyer
  25. The Dying Cowboy
  26. The Devil Made Texas